Study committees

To translate CIGRE's strategic focus into specific technical knowledge, CIGRE has 16 different work areas. Each has its own expert, global Study Committee and work programme. This the ‘engine room’ that drives the development of CIGRE’s energy system knowledge and covers the main technical areas of the energy system.

If you are interested in participating in a Study Committee or would like more information, please contact the relevant Study Committee chair. Where already available, click on the study committees for an overview of active members.

The following National Study Committees (NSCs) are active in Stichting CIGRE Nederland:

Study CommitteeChairOrganisation
Group A – Machines
A1 Power generation and electromechanical energy conversionMonique Krieg-Wezelenburg
EIC-High Energy
A2 Power transformers
and reactors
Mark Louwerse
Smit Transformatoren B.V.
A3 Transmission
and distribution equipment
Rene Smeets
Group B – Technologies
B1 Insulated cablesJacco Smit
TenneT TSO
B2 Overhead linesErwin Platenkamp Erwin.platenkamp@tennet.euTenneT TSO
B3 Substations
and electrical installations
Andre Lathouwers
TenneT TSO
B4 DC systems
and power electronics
Alex Alefragkis
TenneT TSO
B5 Protection and automationRené Troost
Group C – Systems
C1 Power system development
and economics
Maksym Semenyuk
C2 Power system operation
and control
Jan van Putten
TenneT TSO
C3 Power system sustainability and environmental performanceJoris den Breejen
TenneT TSO
C4 Power system technical
Peet Schutte
C5 Electricity markets
and regulation
Thijs Slot
C6 Active distribution systems
and distributed energy resources
Evert de Haan
Group D – New Materials and IT
D1 Materials and
emerging test techniques
Rob Ross
TU Delft / IWO
D2 Information systems, telecommunications and cybersecurityAmadou Louh